Honorary Professor, Hunan University, October 2013.

Economic Theory Fellow, Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory, since 2012.

Honorary Doctor, Azerbaijan State Economic University, September 2011.

Doctor Honoris Causa, Norwegian School of Economics, September 2011.

Honorable Professor, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University, March 2011.

Elected Member, Real Academia de Ciencias Económicas y Financieras, Spain, June 2010-present.

Doctor honoris causa, Universidad del Norte, Asunctión, Paraguay, May 2010.

Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research, 2008-present.

Visitante Ilustre, Universidad Nacional de Tucumán, November 2006.

Doctor of Laws, honoris causa, University of British Columbia, May 2006.

Doctor honoris causa, University of Stavanger, October 2005.

Award of Distinguished Achievement, The Money Marketeers of New York University, October 2005.

Docteur honoris causa, Université du Québec à Montréal, May 2005.

Elected Member, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, March 2005-present.

Doctor honoris causa, Universidad Torcuato Di Tella, November 2004.

Member, Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, since 2004.

Nobel Laureate in Economic Science, 2004.

Fellow, Econometric Society, since 1992.

John Stauffer National Fellowship in Public Policy, Hoover Institution, 1982-83.

Alexander Henderson Award in recognition of Excellence in Economic Theory, Carnegie-Mellon University, 1973.